The home of the Providence Downtown Improvement District

black odyssey

Presented by Trinity Repertory Company at Trinity Repertory Company, Providence

January 03 - February 03

After Ulysses Lincoln is lost at sea and presumed dead, the Gulf War veteran struggles to find his way back home to his wife and son while unknowingly being controlled by a host of gods — both scheming and benevolent. Along the way, he must confront his ancestral past so that he can embrace his unsettled present. His journey is an epic, breathtaking, and gloriously theatrical reimagining of Homer’s classic that brilliantly combines Greek mythology and African-American history of the last...

[more+]

After Ulysses Lincoln is lost at sea and presumed dead, the Gulf War veteran struggles to find his way back home to his wife and son while unknowingly being controlled by a host of gods — both scheming and benevolent. Along the way, he must confront his ancestral past so that he can embrace his unsettled present. His journey is an epic, breathtaking, and gloriously theatrical reimagining of Homer’s classic that brilliantly combines Greek mythology and African-American history of the last fifty years.

[less-]

Dates & times

Thu, Jan 03 @ 7:30 pm Fri, Jan 04 @ 7:30 pm Sat, Jan 05 @ 7:30 pm + 23 more dates and times

Sun, Jan 06 @ 2:00 pm Wed, Jan 09 @ 7:30 pm Thu, Jan 10 @ 7:30 pm Fri, Jan 11 @ 7:30 pm Sat, Jan 12 @ 7:30 pm Sun, Jan 13 @ 7:30 pm Tue, Jan 15 @ 7:30 pm Wed, Jan 16 @ 7:30 pm Thu, Jan 17 @ 7:30 pm Fri, Jan 18 @ 7:30 pm Sat, Jan 19 @ 7:30 pm Sun, Jan 20 @ 7:30 pm Wed, Jan 23 @ 7:30 pm Thu, Jan 24 @ 7:30 pm Fri, Jan 25 @ 7:30 pm Sat, Jan 26 @ 7:30 pm Sun, Jan 27 @ 7:30 pm Tue, Jan 29 @ 7:30 pm Wed, Jan 30 @ 7:30 pm Thu, Jan 31 @ 7:30 pm Fri, Feb 01 @ 7:30 pm Sat, Feb 02 @ 7:30 pm Sun, Feb 03 @ 2:00 pm - Less dates

Admission

Add a Pre-Show Prologue Join us for a FREE prologue! One hour prior to every performance, a member of the cast leads a 30-minute discussion with a peek into the play-making process and other details. Each Prologue concludes with a Q&A with the audience.

Ticket Website